Freshers 4.0

It’s very weird being back at CU. Last year there were loads of freshers getting involved – which is great! But it made things slightly awkward at a returners’ meal when I barely knew anyone except a few 3rd years and a former housemate who was on a year in industry. The constant introductions made me feel very much like a fresher!

Since going to France I’ve had renewed gratitude for the opportunity to pray, worship and spread the Gospel on campus. Especially with SO MANY others. Loads of people have turned up at freshers events – the CU were able to run a Ceilidh, games evenings, toasties and doughnuts… but I think I’m most looking forward to this evening.

It’s our first main meeting of the year – it should be a good opportunity to meet freshers keen to get involved, to meet yet more 2nd years I know a tiny bit better now, and to get back involved by helping to set up and run the PA system for the evening. Which I’ve not done in over a year – I’m taking this as an opportunity to re-learn what I did in 2nd year!

I mentioned that I felt a bit like a fresher. But there’s one big difference. When I was a fresher, I had my whole university experience ahead of me. 4 years of it. Now I only have one. By the end of June it will be over. So I will make the most of it. Work hard. Study hard. Pray hard. And get stuck in to making sure that every student on campus has an opportunity to hear and respond to the Gospel.

Leave a comment