Ways to Pray: Prayer Paper Chain

I always like to do something creative to pray. Whilst simply speaking is great, I often end up just… waffling on. So something creative can also help me to focus.

I came across this idea just before Christmas. And when I did it, I made a few mistakes. I made the strips of paper too thick, and I didn’t do them brightly-coloured enough. But it was still effective.

The idea is simple; write a prayer on each strip of paper, and join them together. You could have separate chains for separate themes (we’ve got one in our house with the theme of ‘thankfulness’), or separate colours for separate themes, or simply write down prayers and not worry about colour-matching themes. I like things being colour-matched but I also hate being too legalistic about things that don’t really matter.

Some of the reasons I like this:

  • It’s nice to have something to brighten up a uni room.
  • It’s good to see how God’s working, and everything He’s done.
  • It’s really easy to add to.
  • It’s easy to take a section and give thanks for answered prayers, or continue to pray for something.
  • It’s good for both group prayer and personal prayer

I will admit, the idea did come from a list of prayer activities for children, but then again I could quite reasonably describe myself as 20-going-on-5 so I don’t feel too bad about recommending it…

Leave a Reply

