A New Term…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

Less than a week until I go back to uni. Less than a week until I’ve got an essay due in. Just over a week until an exam that actually counts for something. And what am I doing? I’m trying my hardest to revise but just keep getting distracted.

Part of it is possibly that I’m at home – so both physically and mentally far away from university. As well as the fact that for the vast majority of the holidays the exam was “next year” – adding further distance to everything I need to do. Which now is beginning to get me down.

This time last year was quite hard. I’d managed well in my first term, probably due to all the excitement of leaving home and starting new things. In second term, I arrived back at uni when it was dark, cold, grey, and all the excitement had worn off.

However, I feel I’m doing better this year than last year. I started last term going to Church Bible study, which has been really valuable for me. I’ll admit that I never really looked much at the Prophets, and we’re going through Isaiah. It’s struck me so often how relevant it is to today. Carrying on going to that can only help. I’m also a lot more involved in CU than I was this time last year.

I’m wary about a lot of things this term, a higher workload being one of them. But hopefully I can learn to better trust God – and learn a whole lot more about Him. There’s a lot to look forward to as well.

CU Events Week is coming up in February. It’s a week of events (…) that we get a lot of people to, at which there is entertainment, free food, and plenty of Gospel! It’ll be tiring, but a lot of fun and definitely worth it.

Outside of CU there’s Unibrass, a Brass Band competition run by and for students. It will probably be a long day (and full of drunken students…) but I’m looking forward to it. The only problem is that there’s a strong probability that extra rehearsals will take away from some of my Church commitments.

And apart from anything else, I’ll be going back to a lovely house where I can have limescale-free cups of tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

