Our House – Our Family

You are members of God’s very own family, citizens of God’s country, and you belong in God’s household with every other Christian.” – Ephesians 2:19b

The house I’m living in this year is great.

We often invite friends over, for food, games, even just chatting. And one in particular has commented more than once on the atmosphere in our house; how communal it is, how friendly.

It helps that all of us want the benefits of communal living. We searched in particular for a house with a dining table. We found a house with a dining table, living area, large kitchen (all open-plan) and I love it. I spend far less money on food (as we shop and cook together), and I spend the time I need to with others. I can always retreat to my room if I’m people-d out!

But I think what helps more is the one thing that brought us together in the first place: Our faith.

We are all Christians; we are all a part of God’s Church, God’s family. I know I’ve used the verse at the top before. But I think it perfectly sums up our house. I think the notion of family helps to create the atmosphere that our friend commented on.

We have come from completely different walks of life. We met through CU. We are all adopted in God’s family; we can be like family at uni.

It saddens me that other houses don’t live communally. It saddens me even more that most other houses don’t know of the Gospel. But CU exists to “give every student on campus the opportunity to hear and respond to the Gospel”. So that they, too, may know the love that God has for us and that we have for each other.

Leave a Reply

