Prayer Meetings, or, Why I Get Up On Monday Mornings

Do all this in prayer, asking for God’s help. Pray on every occasion, as the Spirit leads. For this reason keep alert and never give up; pray always for all God’s people.” – Ephesians 6:18

Prayer meetings are great. There’s something so powerful, so refreshing, so equipping to have people praying together at 8am on a Monday morning. Leading prayer meetings is a bit more of a challenge (especially as a quieter person), but nonetheless rewarding.

I really enjoyed leading our CU prayer meeting today, especially planning it. Digging out the right Bible passages, deciding how we were praying and what we were praying for. Creating something that people could take away and pray on over the week.

We started with worship – I know many of my friends find that worship helps them concentrate on prayer, and we don’t often start a prayer meeting with worship. So I decided to start by singing. Worshipping God together is such a joyful activity!

The running theme of the prayer meetings this term is the Lord’s Prayer. We’re looking at it line-by-line, and so I was given “Give us this day our daily bread”. It’s hugely important to remember that God provides for us. God is gracious and giving. We can receive spiritual nourishment from the Bible, but God also provides us with more practical things. The first example that comes to mind is the house I’m currently living in. One of my housemates said at one point, and I definitely agree, “God put our house together.” I’ll probably explain that in a sentimental post when I’m moving out.

Anyway. This line also reminds us that all things come from God, and so we should give thanks for them. I found a great part of Deuteronomy that unfortunately we didn’t get time to read in the prayer meeting, but it was a great reminder of how good God is and how much we have to thank Him for.

I chose to do this section as one big group so that, in thanking God for His goodness, we could hear exactly how great He is. It was great to have so many people thanking God for so many things.

One of the things I took away from Forum was the importance of prayer. Just how amazing it is that we can talk with God and know that He will answer our prayers. And that it’s so important to keep on praying. So it was important to me that there was something to take away. Something to remind us during the week to keep praying. And, indeed, what to pray for. Taking half a minute before praying to write down our prayer points on a piece of paper (divided into sections so we know what we’re praying for!) turned out to be a useful focus during the meeting, and it created a take-away that people can pray for over the course of the week.

When I was younger I hated prayers. They seemed so boring, so long. Every “Amen” was said in hope that it was the last one. But now I love prayers. It’s definitely a duty to pray. But it’s also a real privilege.

Leave a Reply

