Hymns: The Day Thou Gavest

It’s been a very long and hectic few days. I’ve packed and unpacked and packed again, and now I’m in Shropshire at Forum, having moved into my house for the next year two days ago. Being back at my uni church was really good, and seeing how much God has blessed my friends there over the holidays has been really encouraging.

Another thing that’s encouraged me recently is this hymn. The day thou gavest is often used in the evening or in remembrance. But I also find it pretty encouraging during the day.

It reminds us that everything is God’s gift to us. But that’s not all. It speaks of constant praise to God, both our own, and of brothers and sisters in Christ around the world. Knowing that there are so many people across the world living and breathing God’s love all the time is just so encouraging and inspiring.

Leave a Reply

