Looking Forward to Freshers… Again

If anyone belongs to Christ, there is a new creation. The old things have gone; everything is made new! All this is from God. Through Christ, God made peace between us and himself, and God gave us the work of telling everyone about the peace we can have with him.” – 2 Corinthians 5:17-18

I was wondering what to say today. Well, what is there to say? My summer is going just how I expected. I’m still looking forward to September. Everything is pretty much the same as this time last week.

Well, almost.

Last Thursday was A Level results day. Which means thousands of students have found out which university they’re going to. Looking for housemates, coursemates, anyone who could possibly be a friend.

I hope that the CU can be a friendly face. When I was a fresher last year, CU was so important in developing my friendships. Of course, it helped that the stranger next door to me was also quiet, also a linguist, and also a Christian… But most of my best friends are CU members. Their love and friendship really helped me when settling into university. I pray that this might be the case for this year’s freshers.

The influx of new students also means we’ve got a few new faces to look forward to in CU. It means we can forge new relationships and get some fresh impetus in sharing the Gospel on campus.

I struggled a little when picking the Bible verse for this blog. Because whilst the new is definitely coming, the old has not completely gone. With the exception of final-year students who are moving on to bigger, better things, much of CU is staying the same. Most of us are staying. We still have the same mission statement, the same basis for our faith, indeed, the same faith. But we will have new faces and new opportunities to spread the Gospel.

One month to go until it all begins again… 🙂

Leave a Reply

