Can we be Good without God?

Everyone has sinned and fallen short of God’s glorious standard, and all need to be made right with God by his grace, which is a free gift. They need to be made free from sin through Jesus Christ.” – Romans 3:23-24

Can we be good without God?

I have my reasons for asking this question today, which I’ll get to later.

Anyway, my answer to that would be yes. By our standards, anyway. We can do good things, we can be kind to people – that all counts as good, right?

Well, for many people, that’s the way it seems to be. Do as much good as you can, and there might be some future reward.

But we are told that we cannot be good enough. All of us, as it says in Romans, have sinned. We have all fallen short of God’s glory. That’s why God sent Jesus. He sent Jesus to die in our place – because anything we can do is never going to be good enough. (This reminds me of 1 Corinthians 1:25 – “Even the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength”)

We are also told many times that good deeds done without faith are simply worthless. Equally, we are warned against faith without deeds, but we cannot expect to simply do good and get good in return. Having faith in God is also fundamental.

In terms of why I ask this question, it’s something I’m doing over summer. When accidentally taking part in a quiz (don’t ask…), me and my housemates came up with a phrase. I took that phrase, and am now making something for the house.

It’s a pillow embroidered with an enquiry about a particular religion.

It’s a Christian Question Cushion.

I’m sorry.

One thought on “Can we be Good without God?

Leave a Reply

