Hymns: May the Mind of Christ, My Saviour

Remember that I commanded you to be strong and brave. Don’t be afraid, because the Lord your God will be with you everywhere you go.” – Joshua 1:9

May the Mind of Christ, My Saviour is another of my favourite hymns. As with many of my favourite hymns, it is prayerful. It asks for God’s help so we can help others, as well as asking for God’s love, peace and power. It reminds me of God’s importance; “so that all may see I triumph only through His power.” This phrase, for me, underlines how important God is, and how easy it is to forget that. How easy it is for others to see my achievements as my own, rather than God’s. And, indeed, just how much God has given me.

Whilst I love the whole hymn, I particularly like the final verse:

May we run the race before us,
strong and brave to face the foe,
looking only unto Jesus
as we onward go.

For me, it serves as a reminder that we should not be afraid of anything that we will face; we should instead be focussed on Jesus. We know that God will be with us; and that’s quite easy for me to forget.

And as always, the music is just as important to me as the words. A simple yet beautiful tune and harmony make this hymn one of my favourites.

Leave a Reply

