Holidays…

It’s nice to have a change of scene every once in a while – this is why I’m writing from Cardiff, rather than my home town or university city. It also means I’m writing on my phone. Anyway.

Llandaff Cathedral is a Norman church on a 6th century Christian site. It was partially destroyed in WW2  a German mine, but was restored in the 1950s. It’s a really beautiful cathedral, although it seemed relatively small.

It was a surprise, however, to find it near the bottom of a hill, with only its spires visible from the road at the top. Many churches and cathedrals are more prominent in the landscape. St Albans Cathedral (taking the one closest to home as my example, of course…) is sat on top of quite a steep hill. Others are even more prominent, with protected sight lines. In York, you can’t even build higher than the Minster.

According to Wikipedia (everyone’s favourite source, I know), the original church in Llandaff was built near a ford of the river Taff, which runs through Cardiff. Which may explain why it’s not so prominent.

But in fact I think I prefer it more secluded. It’s a very peaceful place. A couple of miles up the river from the hustle and bustle of the city, and set halfway down a hill, it’s easy for me to see why someone, 15 centuries ago, decided to build a Church.

Leave a Reply

