Home or Away?

You are members of God’s very own family, citizens of God’s country, and you belong in God’s household with every other Christian.” – Ephesians 2:19b

It’s a bit weird being back at home.

Going back to the church I went to almost every week until September, and being back in my own bed, and yet still feeling a little bit like a visitor.

I mean, I came back at Christmas and Easter, but it’s not quite the same when your bed’s in one place and your duvet is in another. Now they’re reunited, as it were.

And yet I’m still living pretty much out of a suitcase. I haven’t fully unpacked yet, and knowing that I’ve only got 2 months until I go back to uni, and just a week until I could (if I wanted to) move in to my house for next year, it doesn’t quite feel permanent enough to unpack completely.

Then there’s the fact that I have to re-adjust to family life. I’ve spent most of the last year living mostly independently, and to be honest I quite enjoyed it. And whilst I enjoy many home comforts (ranging from being able to play the piano regularly to not having to cook for myself every single day to being able to have day trips outside the realms of public transport…) I also appreciated moving out.

I am aware that next year will be very different. For one thing I’ll be living with 4 friends from CU, quite a step down from 19 strangers!

And whilst it’s a little weird being back at home, I know that God has given me so many blessings even within the past 2 weeks that I’ve been here, and He is faithful, steadfast and gracious no matter where in the country I am.

I am sure (and I can pray) that it is just a matter of getting back into routines and normality. I *might* just be a little homesick for university.

I realise that this has been mostly quite negative. I didn’t mean it to end up that way. I really love being at home with my family, and the fact that I can spend the summer at home is fantastic. There are so many blessings I get from being at home. But equally I am a little melancholic – uni life is so different. I will get back to uni life in September, though. For now I should focus on the summer.

And with the overarching theme of ‘home’, it seems appropriate to remember that the sense of belonging can be found in God. As is mentioned in Ephesians, we are all part of God’s family. We are all part of God’s household. Knowing that, through Jesus, we are children of God, will help me to put this into the bigger picture. Particularly at times like this – when I don’t really belong at home, but don’t really belong at uni – it is amazing to remember that I do, in fact, belong with God.

Leave a Reply

