The EU Referendum: Taking Stock

But the Spirit produces the fruit of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. There is no law that says these things are wrong. ” – Galatians 5:22-23

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

^My reaction on discovering that the Leave campaign had won.

In case you hadn’t noticed, the UK held a referendum yesterday on whether or not to remain a member of the European Union. I’ll try to leave politics out of it, despite my despair at the result.

Turns out I’m not the only one. The pound has fallen to ridiculously low levels, the Prime Minister has resigned, and everyone seems pretty angry about Farage. It’s easy to look at everything and feel an impending sense of doom. (In fact, this gif pretty much sums up my Facebook news feed at the moment…)

But now, more than ever, we need to take stock and remember that God is in control. It’s certainly not the result the I had expected or hoped for. But I will be praying today.

I will be praying for love. That rifts between us could be healed. That we can stop the name-calling, insults and blame game that seem to be following, and stand united in love.

I will be praying for joy. That we may be able to rejoice in what the Lord has done for us, and as such give us hope for His future blessings.

I will be praying for peace. That whatever happens, we can be thankful that the referendum passed generally peacefully*, and for continued peace between supporters of each campaign.

I will be praying for patience. That we remain patient with others, and patient whilst whatever has to happen, happens.

I will be praying for kindness. That we may be loving and gentle in our attitudes towards each other, neither blaming nor hurting each other given the results.

I will be praying for goodness. That we may show goodness to each other despite everything.

I will be praying for faithfulness. That those who trust in God would remain faithful to Him, and continue to trust Him for what we need.

I will be praying for gentleness. That we don’t turn to insults or tempers. That we can humbly put aside our differences and calmly get on with things.

I will be praying for self control. It’s hard. A lot of people are angry, frustrated, and simply don’t know what to do next. I’ve lacked self control over this matter, and I’m sure many others have as well.

Though as a nation we have woken up in a state of uncertainty, worry, and division, we must remember that we do have hope. Not in a ‘Brexit’. Not in politicians, or ideals. But in Jesus. He is steadfast. He is certain. Perhaps the only thing we really know right now.

*Of course it hasn’t been entirely peaceful; the horrific murder of Jo Cox MP last week attests to that. However, we are fortunate that we live in a country where we have open and fair referendums and campaigns free from large-scale violence.

Leave a Reply

