Hymns: In Christ Alone

Yes, I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor ruling spirits, nothing now, nothing in the future, no powers, nothing above us, nothing below us, nor anything else in the whole world will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:38-39

This is the beginning of an occasional series on my favourite hymns and songs.

One of my all-time favourites, one to which I return time and time again, is In Christ Alone.

It is a reminder of the Gospel – in fact, the 2nd and 3rd verses are the story of Jesus’ death and resurrection condensed into 16 lines. The first verse affirms our strength in Jesus, with the final verse attesting to the nature of our life with Him.

My favourite verse is no doubt the final one:

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand
Till He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand”

This reminds me of the passage at the top – Romans 8:38-39. It is a wonderful message of God’s absolute love for us, and is also a fantastic reminder that whatever we’re doing, wherever we are, God is there for us. He is in control.

I often sing this to remind me that God is always there for me, when I realise I’m on the verge of getting so caught up in life and other things and need reminding that He should be the basis, the foundation, for everything I do.

Add this to a beautiful tune (and an even more wonderful descant that I can’t find anywhere…) and that is why I love In Christ Alone so much.

One thought on “Hymns: In Christ Alone

Leave a Reply

