A Few Thoughts on Prayer – and something to pray for

Have faith in God,” Jesus answered. “Truly I tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” – Mark 11:22-24

God answers prayers.

This is a huge encouragement at this time of year; I have a speaking exam (which I’m terrified about) on Thursday, and less than two weeks later, actual exams start. To be fair, I’m less worried about those than I am the speaking, mostly because they don’t involve a 3-4 minute presentation and 6-7 minutes of questions with the module tutors. In a way, I far preferred A Level speaking exams done with complete and utter strangers.

At the end of the day, this exam is a small proportion of 1 module (out of a total of 6 this year). And whilst I’m terrified for it, I know I can get through it. By half twelve on Thursday I can start to focus on the weekend. But first I have to do it.

In order to do it, I need to be prepared. Both “physically”, having sorted out my presentation and watched the video enough to be able to answer the questions, and mentally, so I’ll have the confidence to speak to the best of my ability. But throughout all this time of preparation and exam, I need to be praying.

Prayer is one of the most important parts of my life as a Christian. To be able to talk to God about anything and everything, my worries and fears, my hopes for the future, my joys and prayers of thanks, my apologies when I inevitably screw up.

It is such a huge comfort, and such a huge encouragement, to know that God is there, and He will listen to and answer all of my prayers. Most of which right now are for support, comfort, and calm nerves!

Leave a Reply

